It doesn’t matter how famous you are, your parents are still going to send you sweet, embarrassing, and sometimes nonsensical text messages. No amount of money or fame can inoculate you from a guilt-ridden ellipses from your mom, or an unsolicited text from your dad about fixing the thermostat.

On top of the regular parental pressures, celebrities have the added weight of explaining away tabloid rumors and catching their parents up on all the various branches of their public facing career. Naturally, this gives mom and dad even more ways to troll their celebrity kids while expressing pride and support.

Since the internet is an endless gorgeous abyss full of text screenshots and celebrity social media gags, I have gathered 20 text exchanges between famous people and their parents.

1. Maisie Williams’ mom thirsting after Andrew Garfield.

love my mum so much lmao pic.twitter.com/6bgw4VldXd

— Maisie Williams (@Maisie_Williams) January 8, 2017

2. This shady text from Michelle Obama’s mom.

When your mom doesn’t think you’re a “real” celebrity…Tonight in Phoenix, I shared this text thread from my mom from #Grammys night, and I just had to share it with all of you. #TextsFromMom 😂

A post shared by Michelle Obama (@michelleobama) on

3. This meta exchange with Seth Rogen’s mom.

pic.twitter.com/TKcPt5u5PI

— Seth Rogen (@Sethrogen) March 16, 2019

4. Chrissy Teigen’s dad, with the ultimate dad text.

dad is thrilled! pic.twitter.com/n00AHqOVbz

— christine teigen (@chrissyteigen) July 12, 2018

5. Kate Beckinsale’s concern for her daughter.

The level of intrigue I am dealing with is actually too much for me

A post shared by Kate Beckinsale (@katebeckinsale) on

6. Zendaya’s mom with the adorable roast.

Thanks mom😂😂😂 @clairemaree64 pic.twitter.com/sNCrrbOikj

— Zendaya (@Zendaya) May 10, 2016

7. Hilary Duff refusing to share with her mom.

I won’t share the 3 dozen mini cupcakes that came to my door this morning mother. I won’t pic.twitter.com/UVQbRVhp62

— Hilary Duff (@HilaryDuff) September 28, 2016

8. Ariana Grande’s grandma getting ready to facetime.

omg pic.twitter.com/Bb9B7kZzOE

— Ariana Grande (@ArianaGrande) April 28, 2017

9. Noah Centineo narcing on himself to his mom.

Happy birthday to me pic.twitter.com/yBJjh0O63v

— Noah (@noahcent) May 9, 2017

10. Joey King and her mom discussing the intricacies of pasta.

Casually roasting my mom cuz I’m a bigger fan of pasta than her 💁‍♀️ pic.twitter.com/bVBdp51yjM

— Joey King (@JoeyKing) August 6, 2018

11. Poetry from Camila Cabello’s mom.

poetry pic.twitter.com/tF0WKVkIBC

— camila (@Camila_Cabello) July 27, 2018

12. Mandy Moore’s parents roasting her acting.

Mom and Dad know how to keep it real. Thanks guys? 😂 #thisisus

A post shared by Mandy Moore (@mandymooremm) on

13. Olivia Munn’s mom fact-checking the rumors.

Answering yes or no to personal questions can be tricky because if you say “No” it means whenever you say “No comment” that kind of becomes your default “Yes”. But since I’m doing press for the next few days, I didn’t want to have to answer the same question over and over. So instead, I’m going to let my text conversation with my Asian mom help me out.✌️#Colberto

A post shared by Olivia Munn (@oliviamunn) on

14. This support from Emma Roberts’ mom.

Shout out to my mom who doesn’t have email, Twitter, Instagram, still uses a flip phone, and signs all her messages #T9soFine #LoveYou #Queen @ggrace_nickels

A post shared by Emma Roberts (@emmaroberts) on

15. Kris Jenner sharing the family text chain.

Kendall’s texts are cut off at the top and Kylie is on a plane… but this is how fun and silly my family’s text chains are on a daily .. Sorry guys I had to 😂😂🎉#itjustgoesonandon

A post shared by Kris Jenner (@krisjenner) on

16. This wholesome exchange between Ariana Grande and her mom.

omg mom

A post shared by Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) on

17. Miranda Cosgrove’s mom, keeping it real.

Texts from my Mom #thestruggleisreal

A post shared by Miranda Cosgrove (@mirandacosgrove) on

18. Reese Witherspoon’s mom being deeply wholesome.

Aww thanks Mom for all the words of encouragement. ❤️ Congrats to all the #GoldenGlobe winners last night! What a fun celebration of movies this year….and thank you to all the amazing fans who have supported #WILDmovie. 🙌

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) on

19. Zendaya’s mom laying on the guilt.

Why is my mother like this??😂😂😂@clairemaree64 pic.twitter.com/UdM6WLhegG

— Zendaya (@Zendaya) July 18, 2017

20. Solid advice from Grace Helbig’s mom.

My mom texted this to me & my brothers earlier today. What would normally be a cliche ‘mom text’ is now such a valuable human guideline. pic.twitter.com/jIgNaMhroK

— Grace Helbig (@gracehelbig) August 17, 2017

At the end of the day, we’re all just trying to explain Snapchat to our moms.