Rajasthan HC quashes cow-smuggling case against Pehlu Khan, his two sons

Half-centuries from David Warner and Steve Smith helped Australia thump Sri Lanka by nine wickets in the second T20I in Brisbane and wrap up the series in convincing style.

This is the first time that Smith and Warner batted together in an official international in Australia since the 2017 Boxing Day Test.

For the Islanders, this was yet another wake-up call, who were outplayed twice by the Kangaroos, after beating Pakistan in the previous T20I series.

Australia won by 9 wickets and take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.
Australia 118/1 (13 ovs) David Warner 60*, Steven Smith 53* | Lasith Malinga 1/23 vs SL 117. #AUSvSL pic.twitter.com/s3iqbaYg5u

— Sri Lanka Cricket 🇱🇰 (@OfficialSLC) October 30, 2019

Chasing a paltry target of 118 after Sri Lanka were restricted to 117 all out off 19 overs, Warner and Smith came together after Aaron Finch departed for a golden duck. Warner was unbeaten on 60 and Smith not out 53 as Australia romped home with 7 overs to spare.

“The bowlers did a terrific job, we bowled in the right areas and created chances and restricted them to 117, which wasn’t enough on this wicket,” said Smith.

“It’s nice and easy batting at the other end from Davy,” he added. “He’s doing a terrific job. Played beautifully the other day and backed it up tonight as well,” he added.

There was nothing the Sri Lankan bowlers could do against such quality batsmen, who were never troubled.

“It’s a tough side and I think with this kind of batting line-up our score wasn’t enough,” said Sri Lanka skipper Malinga.

“We didn’t get the score we expected and the batsmen will have to be more responsible. Shot selection is not that great and we didn’t get any partnerships in the middle overs.”

Two wickets from the towering Billy Stanlake, in for Mitchell Starc who was attending his brother’s wedding, and a brace each for Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa and Pat Cummins kept Sri Lanka in check after they won the toss and batted.

After Sri Lanka in Melbourne, Australia face Pakistan in three T20s in Sydney, Canberra and Perth.

Australia Playing XI: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey (wk), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Billy Stanlake

Sri Lanka Playing XI: Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera (wk), Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Malinga (c), Nuwan Pradeep