By: Sports Desk |

Updated: September 24, 2020 11:04:07 pm

Kings XI Punjab batsman KL Rahul, opening the innings against Royal Challengers Bangalore on Thursday, scored the first century of season 13 of the Indian Premier League.

His unbeaten century took KXIP to a total of 206/3 in 20 overs. Rahul’s breathtaking knock comprised 14 fours and seven sixes.

— Dr. Akash Shukla 🇮🇳 (@Akashsh14759919) September 24, 2020

Enroute to his hundred, Rahul also became the fastest Indian to complete 2000 runs in the IPL.

He needed 60 innings to reach the milestone. The record was previously held by master blaster Sachin Tendulkar, who achieved the same milestone in 63 innings.

Rahul remained unbeaten on 132 and surpassed Rishabh Pant to post the highest individual score by an Indian in IPL history. The highest individual score in IPL cricket since AB de Villiers’ 133* (59) against Mumbai Indians in May 2015.

This is also the highest score by a captain in IPL. Here are some of the other records broken by Rahul-

IPL Century both as captain & Non-captain:

1. Sehwag
2. Warner
3. Rahul

Highest individual scores by captains in IPL:

132* – KL RAHUL today
126 – Warner, 2017
119 – Sehwag, 2011
113 – Kohli, 2016
109 – Kohli, 2016
108* – Kohli, 2016

KL Rahul:

First 30 Runs (23 Balls)
Next 30 Runs (19 Balls)
Next 30 Runs (18 Balls)
Next 42 Runs (9 Balls)

All players wore black armbands to honour Australian cricketer turned commentator Dean Jones, who died in Mumbai due to a cardiac arrest on Thursday.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.