Legendary Milkha Singh and star batswoman Smriti Mandhana were among the winners during the second edition of the Indian Sports Honours (ISH). The ISH is an initiative by Sanjiv Goenka, Chairman, RP-SG Group and India cricket team captain Virat Kohli. The second edition of the ISH was recently held in Mumbai.

A total of seventeen honours were presented during the ceremony, comprising eleven Jury Honours, including one Lifetime Achievement Honour, and six popular choice honours, a media release issued here on Friday said.

Milkha Singh, 92, best known as the ‘Flying Sikh’ and most remembered for finishing fourth in the 400m final in the 1960 Rome Olympic Games, was bestowed with the lifetime achievement award.

While 23-year-old Mandhana, who was ruled out due to a fracture in her right toe against the ongoing ODI series against South Africa, got the sportswoman of the year award for the team category.

Mandhana has so far played 50 ODIs and 62 T20s, scoring 1,951 and 1,344 runs respectively.

Among the other prominent winners were the Indian Cricket’s men team led by Kohli himself, who bagged the honour of the ‘Team of the Year’.

The nominees for the Honours were shortlisted by over 200 journalists from the Sports Journalist Federation of India (SJFI). The Jury Honours were then decided by the ISH jury, which included among others Sanjiv Goenka, Pulella Gopichand, Mahesh Bhupathi, Sardar Singh, Abhinav Bindra, P T Usha and Anjali Bhagwat.

The winners of the Popular Choice Honours were selected by the fans themselves and the winners of each category were decided based on the highest number of votes in each category.


Jury Honours:

Differently Abled Sportsman of the Year: Sandeep Chaudhary

Differently Abled Sportswoman of the Year: Rakshita Raju

Emerging Sportsman of the Year: Saurabh Chaudhary

Emerging Sportswoman of the Year: Manu Bhaker

Coach of the Year: Pulella Gopichand

Sportsman of the Year (Individual): Bajrang Punia

Sportswoman of the Year (Individual): Vinesh Phogat

Sportsman of the Year (Team): Sunil Chhetri

Sportswoman of the Year (Team): Smriti Mandhana

Team of the Year: Indian Cricket Team: Men

Popular Choice Honours:

Breakthrough Performance of the Year: Male: Jasprit Bumrah

Breakthrough Performance of the Year:Female: Jemimah Rodrigues

Spirit of Sport Honour: Sunil Chhetri

Comeback of the Year: Dipa Karmakar

Club of the Year: Chennai Super Kings

Fan Club of the Year: Whistle Podu Army CSK Fan Club