Pakistan vs Australia (PAK vs AUS) 2nd Test Highlights: David Warner and Marnus Labuschagne scored centuries on Day 1 of the Adelaide Test against Pakistan on Friday – continuing off from their heroics in the 1st Test – to take Australia to 302/1 at Stumps. Shaheen Afridi was the only bowler to take a wicket – of Joe Burns. That was in the 4th over of the day. After that though, it was the Warner and Labuschagne show, as the duo added an unbeaten 294-run stand. This is highest partnership so far in Day/Night Tests.

Australia won the 1st Test by an innings and 5 runs. Pakistan will need a drastic turnaround on Day 2 – when Warner and Labuschagne continue their partnership – to get back into the 2nd Test as they continue to look for their first win over Australia of their ongoing tour.

Day 1 ends in Adelaide. 73 overs have been bowled today. Australia finish the day at 302/1. Warner (166) and Labuschagne (126) walk off at the end of what has been a highly satisfying day for the hosts. Shaheen Afridi took the only wicket to fall today. That was in the 4th over of the day and the Pakistan bowlers and fielders have been put through a proper punishing after that. Day 2 will resume with Australia looking to pile on the misery on Pakistan.

The landmarks keep on being racked up in this innings as the inexperience Pakistan bowling attack looks to be completely out of ideas at the end of what has been a long day for them in Adelaide. Warner has stepped into yet another gear after crossing his 150. Surely, there’s not a 200 coming today? Surely Pakistan do not have to wait long before stumps are called and they go back to the comforts of their room and ponder the choices they have made in their lives.

A four and a two, and Marnus Labuschagne brings up his second Test century, and what an innings that is! 14 fours and 169 balls, and forming a massive 224-run partnership with David Warner (123*). AUS are 232/1 after 59.2 overs.

David Warner hits second century on the trot. Warner’s 23rd Test century. Trademark celebration from the Australian opener as he jumps in the air and pumps his fists. After a disappointing Ashes season, Warner continues to perform. He reaches his century from 156 deliveries. AUS – 175/1

Warner equals Ponting’s tally of hundreds against Pakistan in the format. He is only behind Allan Border and Greg Chappell who have scored six Test centuries each against the Pakistan side. 

A rain-curtailed second session comes to an end. Another session dominated by Australians. David Warner and Marnus Labuschagne reach their respective half-centuries. At the end of the session, Warner is batting on 72 and Labuschagne is batting on 60. Yasir Shah was introduced later in the session and was hit for boundaries. Muhammad Musa is yet to make a mark on his debut. AUS – 139/1 after 40 overs  

The second-wicket partnership grows stronger. David Warner and Marnus Labuschagne have done exceptionally well to negotiate the swing of pink ball. Labuschagne is into the 40s. The no.3 batsman is attacking the bowlers more often now.

Azhar Ali introduces Yasir Shah into the attack in the 34th over. Three runs from his over. AUS – 109/1 after 34 overs

The second session will be an hour and 15 minutes. The second session is underway. Shaheen Afridi bowls the first over of the session. Marnus Labuschagne gets a boundary. AUS – 74/1 after 23 overs

Shaheen Afridi gets the breakthrough. Afridi has been in good rhythm since ball one. The left-arm pacer forces Joe Burns to play that one. An outside edge off Burns’ bat carries to Mohammad Rizwan. A huge wicket for Pakistan early on in the Test. Marnus Labuschagne comes to bat. AUS – 8/1 after 3.3 overs

Australia: David Warner, Joe Burns, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Tim Paine(w/c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

Australia: David Warner, Joe Burns, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Tim Paine(w/c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Michael Neser

Pakistan: Shan Masood, Imam-ul-Haq, Azhar Ali(c), Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan(w), Yasir Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Muhammad Musa, Abid Ali, Kashif Bhatti, Imran Khan, Haris Sohail