India crushed Bangladesh by innings and 46 runs to prove no matter what color the ball is, they rule Test cricket at home. Once again, it was the ferocious pack of fast bowlers who wreaked havoc to reduce the visitors for a paltry 195 for 9 at another full house at Eden Gardens, Sunday.

Under Virat Kohli, it was India’s 7th successive Test victory since winning the Test against West Indies in Antigua this August. It was only under MS Dhoni’s leadership in 2013 (February-November) that India last had a 6-Test winning streak (four vs Australia and two vs West Indies).

It was also India’s record-extending 12th home series win. They had already surpassed Australia for 10 successive wins after whitewashing South Africa 3-0 to taste their 11th consecutive Test victory on home soil.

India vs Bangladesh Pink Ball Test Day 3: Highlights | Report

With this Test win, Virat Kohli now has record-extending 11 innings win. He had surpassed MS Dhoni (9) when India defeated Bangladesh by an innings and 130 runs in Indore. Mohammed Azharuddin had 8 innings wins followed by Sourav Ganguly with 7.

Virat Kohli also went past Australia skipper Allan Border’s tally of 32 Test wins and is now fifth on the list of captains with most victories in the longest format. Former South Africa captain Graeme Smith is on top with 53 wins from 109 matches. Ricky Ponting is second with 48 wins in 77 matches while Steve Waugh is third with 41 wins in 57 matches.

Also, India became the only team in the history of Test cricket to win four consecutive Tests by an innings margin.

India’s last four Tests:

Beat SA by innings & 137 runs, Pune
Beat SA by innings & 202 runs, Ranchi
Beat BAN by innings & 130 runs, Indore
Beat BAN by innings & 46 runs, Kolkata

Captains with most Test wins

53 Graeme Smith
48 Ricky Ponting
41 Steve Waugh
36 Clive Lloyd
33 Virat Kohli

India declared their first innings with for 347 for 9 after blistering 136-run knock from Virat Kohli and fifties from Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane. When Bangladesh took the crease for their second innings it was the same old story as India’s ruthless bowling attack, led by Umesh Yadav, rolled over Bangladesh for mere 195 for 9.

Ishant Sharma fell a wicket short of his second 10-wicket haul, as he and Umesh Yadav both claimed a 9 wicket-haul. Umesh took all the 3 remaining Bangladesh wickets on Day 3 to finish things off in 47 minutes on Day 3.