Top News

Bridging 72 years with 9-km road: PM Modi, Imran Khan throw open Kartarpur Corridor

Title contenders Mumbai continued their winning run in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy as they beat Haryana by 8 wickets in their second league game here on Saturday.

Opting to field at the Wankhede Stadium here, Mumbai bowlers put up a splendid show to restrict the visitors to a modest 153/5.

Later, Mumbai skipper Suryakumar Yadav made a mockery of the chase with his blistering unbeaten 81 off just 38 balls, as the domestic giants won with 4.2 overs to spare.

WATCH 📽️: @surya_14kumar blasted an unbeaten 81 off just 38 balls to guide @MumbaiCricAssoc to a win. #MushtaqAliT20

— BCCI Domestic (@BCCIdomestic) November 9, 2019

Haryana openers Shivam Chauhan (28) and Harshal Patel (33) conjured a 66-run stand for the first wicket, before pacer Tushar Deshpande (2-27) sent Chauhan back in the ninth over.

Immediately after, medium pacer Shubham Ranjane dismissed Patel, who gave a sitter to Sujit Naik.

One down Chaitanya Bishnoi (27) failed to convert his start as Mumbai bowlers made an impressive comeback and left Haryana teetering at 109/4.

A quick-fire 29 of 16 balls by all-rounder Rahul Tewatia, who hit two boundaries and as many sixes, helped Haryana past the 150-run mark.

For Mumbai, Deshpande, whose initial omission had led to a furore, was the pick of the bowlers.

Chasing a tricky 154-run target, Mumbai lost opener Jay Bista (13) early.

Best Of Express

But then Aditya Tare (39 off 28 balls) and Surya (81 off 31 boys) stitched a match-winning 74-run second wicket stand to take the game away from Haryana.

Surya toyed with a listless Haryana attack as he hammered 11 fours and three sixes and made a case for himself for the T20 series against West Indies.

He was ably supported by Tare, who stuck six fours, as they did not allow the visitors to make a comeback.

Tare’s departure did not deter Surya from playing his shots, who in company of Siddhesh Lad (16 not out) finished the game in 15.4 overs.

👀: 81* (38)
🆚: Haryana
🏟: [email protected]_14kumar went berserk helping Mumbai register their second win in the #MushtaqAliT20 today 💙🙌🏻 #OneFamily #CricketMeriJaan

— Mumbai Indians (@mipaltan) November 9, 2019

This is Mumbai’s second win after they had defeated Mizoram in their first game.

In an earlier game at Wankhende Stadium, Puducherry bowlers led by experienced R Vinay Kumar (2-20) beat Meghalaya by 19 runs.

In the first game of the day at the MCA BKC, Madhya Pradesh defeated Assam by five wickets.

Asked to bat, MP bowlers led by Saransh Jain restricted Assam to 101/8 and then chased it with 3.3 overs to spare.

In the second game at the MCA BKC, Bengal thrashed minnows Mizoram by nine wickets to register their first win in the tournament.

Bengal bowlers led by medium-pacer Akash Deep (2-9) restricted the opposition to a sub-par 79/4 and them romped home with nine wickets to spare.

Meriwala takes career-best 5/21 in Baroda’s win over Karnataka

Pacer Lukman Meriwala wreaked havoc with a career-best figures of 5 for 21 as Baroda beat Karnataka by 14 runs in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy encounter here on Saturday.

Baroda set a mammoth 197-run target on the back of contributions from skipper Kedar Devdhar (52), Swapnil Singh (36) and Vishnu Solanki (35 not out) before their bowlers led by Meriwala sealed the victory.

Meriwala alongside medium pacer Atit Sheth (2/50) accounted for seven of the Karnataka’s eight wickets.

Chasing 197 in the Group A match, Karnataka started off well with Rohan Kadam (57) and Luvinth Sisodia (38) putting up a 53-run opening stand before the latter was dismissed by Sheth.

Devdutt Padikkal followed Sisodia to the pavilion soon after. Kadam and captain Karun Nair (47) then steadied the ship with a 86 run stand.

However, once the skipper departed in the 16th over the Karnataka middle and lower buckled under pressure falling 14 runs short of the target at the end of the stipulated 20 overs.

In the other Group A match Goa, riding on half centuries by opener Aditya Kaushik (53) and Snehal Kauthaankar (55) beat Bihar by 29 runs in a high scoring encounter.

TN beat Rajasthan by 39 runs for second straight win

Tamil Nadu beat Rajasthan by 39 runs on Saturday for its second straight win in Group ‘B’ of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 cricket tournament.

Tamil Nadu, sent in to bat by its opponent, made 169 for 5 in 20 overs and restricted Rajasthan to 116 for 8.

Murali Vijay (35, 29 balls, 6 fours) and N Jagadeesan (48, 37 balls, 2 fours, 1 six) provided a solid start, adding 54 runs for the first wicket.

After the fall of Vijay to Akash Singh, captain Dinesh Karthik (48, 30 balls, 5 fours, 2 sixes) got into the act and added 48 runs.

Karthik, who played some attractive shots from the word go and hit two big sixes, fell trying to accelerate the scoring, giving Akash Singh his second wicket.

Vijay Shankar (15, 11 balls, 1 six) and M Shahrukh Khan (16, 13 balls, 1 six) hit out towards the end to take Tamil Nadu to 169.

In reply, Rajasthan lost opener Manender Singh off the second ball, caught by M Mohammed of left-arm spinner R Sai Kishore for a duck.

Kishore added the wickets of Ankit Lamba (5) and Aditya Garhwal (9) to put Rajasthan in early trouble.

Kishore’s strikes helped Tamil Nadu reduce the opponent to 23 for 3 in the 5th over and Rajasthan never recovered.

Skipper Mahipal Lomror (32, 36 balls, 1 four, 1 six) made the top-score but the others couldn’t handle the pressure and the team finished with 116 for 8 in its quota of overs.

Sai Kishore was the pick of the bowlers, taking 3 for 19 from 4 overs while T Natarajan, G Periyaswamy, M Ashwin and Vijay Shankar picked up a wicket each.

Tamil Nadu and Vidarbha have two wins from two games and lead Group B with 8 points.